For the past few years I have participated in the Tour of Honor, which is a self-directed ride to memorials and monuments around the continental U.S.  The object is to visit as many as possible from April 1 though October 31 and take a photo of your bike with your flag and the memorial or monument.

I started the year off with a jaunt around the Chesapeake over Easter weekend. For some unknown reason I thought I would have minimal traffic issues in DC over the weekend. I now know better as traffic was worse than I remember on any other weekend. Overall it was productive with 12 TOH memorials in DE, MD, VA, and DC plus two Doughboys, one in Crisfield MD and the other in Petersburg VA. Total miles was 830.

Had one issue. For the life of me I could not find the memorial on Assateague Island. I searched everywhere for it but no sign of it or any of the landmarks.  Later I found out it was taken down due to shifting sands and storm damage.  I did however get a nice photo of the old life saving station boathouse at that location which was made the new memorial

Here are the photos of the memorials I claimed:
Vietnam War Memorial in New Castle DE

Firemen’s Monument in Dover DE

Signal Corps Memorial in Dewey Beach DE

War Memorial in Delmar DE

Crisfield Doughboy

Veterans War Memorial in Cape Charles VA

Yorktown Victory Monument in Yorktown VA

Petersburg VA Doughboy

2nd Infantry Division WWI Memorial in Washington DC

National Fire Dog Monument in Washington DC

Healing Poles 9-11 Memorial in Washington DC

Army National Guard Memorial in Washington DC

Submarine Force Memorial in Annapolis MD

World War I Doughboy in Elkton MD

